No Butter Almond Muffins


After finishing my regular to-do list in the morning, I had a sudden urge to use the almond powder in my pantry. Lately, I’ve been using it to make a hot almond milk drink and I was starting to get bored of the usual…

It started out with a cookie recipe…but the batter looked too dry so I added milk and another egg. The butter at my house was grossly expired, so I made due with grape seed oil.

Somewhere in the process it evolved into a muffin.

The health-conscious boyfriend (aka J): “Prettyyyy good. I’d eat this again. Go lighter on the sugar next time.”

The dad (in a heavy Asian accent): “85 out of 100.” *walks away*

Whatever. In my defense, J is so anti-sugar it’s a little bit sad. A couple years ago in Taiwan when my Chinese skills were still slightly rudimentary, he’d purposely order milk tea for me with half the amount of sugar they regularly put it. There’s a reason it’s called “regular.” Regular is the norm — and I prefer my milk tea the way the store normally makes it.

As for my dad? I don’t even know. #asianparents

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup almond powder (I usually get mine at the local Asian supermarket. 99 Ranch is my go-to location)
1/2 cup grape seed oil
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
Vegetable oil cooking spray

1) Preheat oven to 350 F
2) Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt.
3) Add in sugar, almond powder, oil, eggs, and milk.
4) Stir until the batter is smooth.
5) Divide batter in muffin pan. (I used individual, large ones) Make sure you spray the bottoms with vegetable oil.
5) Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until golden brown.

This was enough for four large muffins (the equivalent of probably seven or eight regular-sized ones). They were so large I cut them up into little pieces.

