Indonesian Food in Los Angeles: Comparing Siomays

So I just recently was introduced to the fabulous world of Indonesian food. I won’t pretend to be an expert but I did eat at enough places to round-up Five Great Indonesian Restaurants in Los Angeles.

siomay Collage

Chicky’s BBQ saw my post and invited me over for dinner and part of the evening’s tasting was their siomay dish, the Indonesian equivalent of shumai. It’s fish cakes drenched in peanut sauce paired with tofu and sliced eggs. Now I’ve tried siomay before at Indo Kitchen but found myself enjoying Chicky’s version far more.

Indo Kitchen’s version (right), while admittedly gorgeous, was layered with a buttery peanut sauce. The texture was almost too creamy. My suspicion is that they mix in actual peanut butter.

But at Chicky’s (left), the peanuts are freshly grounded and the sauce isn’t as heavy as Indo. It mixes well and the taste of the fish cakes is much more prominent.

DSC_0842

Chicky’s BBQ
1206 Huntington Dr.,
Duarte, CA 91010

Indo Kitchen
5 N 4th St
Alhambra, CA 91801

