Slowing Time Down

…how to slow time down? I know.

tumblr_mczh1k5RW31rsw2mao1_500

It’s a cheesy ass title but HEY you clicked it.

Disclaimer: this has nothing to do with food. I’m trying this new thing where I use my blog as a carefully filtered journal. Mostly because I’m sick of just posting about Chinese food (though that will still continue) and I want to use my metaphorical pen and writing degree to show my audience (that consists of my Facebook friends and maybe two strangers) that I’m more than just a content churner.

But back to the topic at hand. HOW TO SLOW TIME DOWN .

I have been having a lot of conversations about how to live life to its fullest and what the meaning of life is. It’s a loaded thought but at the very least it spurs conversation on what solid actions I can accomplish to make the most out of my time.

I’d say I’ve been doing pretty well. In the past four months I’ve gone to Catalina Island, appeared on the Travel Channel, went to Yosemite, Disneyland, biked around Manhattan Beach and Newport Beach, hit up at least two dozen new clubs, bars and/or restaurant, gone hiking multiple times, went to the Yamashiro Farmer’s Market, went to a Lakers v. Clippers game, Vegas, a random jazz bar in Silver Lake, the Grand Central Market, a drive-in movie, a few museums and whatever other random adventure I’m completely blanking out on. I make a conscious effort to plan things to do and make the most of free community concerts or events. And hey — we’re in Los Angeles. There’s no excuse not to be out on the weekends.

So on a related note, I stumbled upon this YouTube video by VSauce on aging and on certain creatures that have basically achieved immorality. At the 2:20 mark, this point was made: “Intense moments of your life are remembered as lasting much longer than times that were relatively dull.”

28815841

No wonder my undergrad career felt like it zoomed by without a beat. I spent my days interning, doing homework and on the weekends, pigeonholed inside my apartment avoiding the cold.

From the video: Our brains take deeper and richer memories of events that are novel. When your experiences are intense and novel, you aren’t remembering more things about it but you are making more copies. Many people think that is why intense moments are remembered as lasting longer. “Because your brain is putting in all these new details, when you think back on it later, there’s so much more to remember, it just seems slower.” 

Conclusion: Do more novel things. Have more intense experiences. Don’t let any time go by that’s mediocre.

winning-charlie-sheen-sweatshirts_design

