Follow Friday: Korean Food, Journalism News, China Townies

Taiwan night market selling braised pork knuckles.

Taiwan night market selling braised pork knuckles.

These people deserve a shout-out simply because I check out what they do on such a regular basis and am thankful that they’re around in the blogosphere. 

For Korean food, check out what Cecilia Hae-Jin Lee is brewing up at the LA Times Daily Dish blog. Her latest piece: Jang Teo Bossam for old-school pork wraps.  Driving through Koreatown gives me a headache and well…. let’s just say I finally get what it’s like driving through the SGV without knowing an inch of Chinese. Thank goodness for Cecilia’s reports (and for giving me naengmyeon recs!)

For journalism-related industry news, check out Connie K. Ho‘s tweets. I don’t know where she gets all her info, but she’s great at it. If I ever need a one stop refresher on what’s going on, I just scroll down her feed.

Another fellow LA Times food scout shout-out. Javier Cabral of The Glutster. He primarily covers Latin food and Eastside bites  but is really a jack-of-all-trades. I met Cabral (along with Cecilia above) at a J. Gold dinner and well, we’ve bonded over talks on being young and in the industry.

And in case you’ve missed it, Frank Shyong‘s online mag China Townies debuted a couple months ago. The perfect read for me because it’s all about Chinese culture and food — two topics I live for. Plus, there’s a lot of interesting data in there.

One comment

  1. Javier Cabral

    Flattered! Thank YOU for you for putting in the time to truly discover the regional food powerhouse that is the SGV, and making it available for all to enjoy.

    Cheers.