Berkeley: Peking Duck Feast at Great China Restaurant

Would you rather a) travel to multiple places, but only get to stay at each place for a day or b) be able to go to a few places, but really get to know the cities?

DSC_0414
 

I would always pick the latter. I consider myself fortunate whenever I get to experience a city through the eyes of the locals. It’s one thing to explore a city a la tour books, but it’s another to be able to eat at someone’s favorite place and eat all of their tried and true dishes.

Great China Restaurant in Berkeley was one of the local gems I got to explore during my time up there. Marvelous decor and tasty selections.

“Our Chinese restaurants up here aren’t as good as Los Angeles’,” someone actually told me, almost apologetically.

I disagree. The Chinese food scene may not be as prolific as Los Angeles, but the Chinese food (that I’ve tried so far) in and of itself was quite delicious.

While Great China markets itself as a bougie eatery, it’s really just your run-of-the-mill family-style eatery. I noticed Beijing, Shandong and Cantonese influences in their menu. My favorites were the duck and the lapi — a mung bean noodle dish made with egg, carrots, garlic and cucumber. It’s drenched in a vinegar sauce and paired with Chinese hot mustard.

DSC_0404
 
DSC_0425
 

DSC_0427
 

DSC_0434
 

DSC_0448
 
2190 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, California 94704

